Thursday, Mar 30 2023

The Commission on Filipinos Overseas (CFO) recently launched the 2020 Presidential Awards for Filipino Individuals and Organizations Overseas.

The Presidential Awards takes place every other year to honor and recognize overseas Filipinos, individuals or organizations who contribute to Philippine development initiatives, or promote the interests of overseas Filipino communities.


The awards are also given to overseas Filipinos who have exceptionally distinguished themselves in their work or profession, bringing pride to the Filipino nation.

A separate category in the awards is reserved for foreign individuals or organizations in recognition of their exceptional contribution to the Philippines and for advancing the cause of overseas Filipino communities.

The four award categories are:

Lingkod sa Kapwa Pilipino (LINKAPIL) Award is given to Filipino individuals or organizations for their exceptional or significant contribution to progress and development in the Philippines.

Banaag Award is conferred to Filipino individuals or organizations for their contributions that have significantly benefited a sector of the diaspora or advanced the cause and interest of overseas Filipino communities.

Pamana ng Pilipino Award is awarded to overseas Filipino individuals, who, in exemplifying the talent and industry of the Filipino, have brought the country honor and recognition through excellence and distinction in the pursuit of their work or profession.

Kaanib ng Bayan Award is presented to foreign individuals (natural-born) and organizations for their exceptional or significant contribution to Philippine progress and development, or in advancing the cause or promoting the interests of overseas Filipino communities.

The Presidential Awards started in 1991 and have been bestowed upon 485 individuals and organizations overseas based in 52 countries and territories. Former Member of Parliament Dr. Rey Pagtakhan is one of several Filipino Canadians who have received the awards to date.



To nominate, contact the Philippine Embassy in Ottawa or the Consulate General that has jurisdiction over the place of residence or operations of the nominee for review and endorsement. Original copies of the endorsed nominations and supporting documents must be submitted not later than July 31, 2020 to:


The Presidential Awards Secretariat
Citigold Center, 1345 Pres. Quirino Avenue corner
South Superhighway, Paco, 1007 Manila, Philippines
Tel. Nos.: (632) 552-4760 to 68
E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

For detailed guidelines, downloadable forms, steps for completing the nomination form and other relevant information about the awards, visit

Canadian Filipino Net is an independent, non-profit digital magazine produced by volunteer writers, editors, and webmasters. Your donation will go a long way so we can continuously publish stories about Canadian Filipinos. Click on a donate button and proceed either through PayPal, Debit, or Credit Card.