Apr 19, 2024

The Senate of the Philippines in session.

The Philippine Embassy in Ottawa has published a list of overseas Filipino citizens qualified to vote in the Philippine national elections this year. Dual Filipino and Canadian citizens can cast their ballots.

The official list may be accessed through the Philippine Embassy site at www.ottawape.dfa.gov.ph or through the Commission on Elections (COMELEC) site at http://www.comelec.gov.ph/?r=OverseasVoting/2019NLE/CLOV.

The period for overseas voting starts on April 13, 2019 and ends a month later on May 13, 2019.

The mid-term elections will be held in the Philippines on May 13, 2019 but overseas voting will be conducted via postal voting. Official ballots will be sent by postal mail to addresses of registered voters who are directed to follow instructions by the Commission on Elections (COMELEC). Completed ballots may be returned to the Philippine Embassy by mail or in person.

The 2019 election will see candidates vying for 12 seats in the Philippine Senate, all seats in the House of Representatives and all elected positions in the regional (Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao), provincial and municipal levels. Winners will begin their terms on June 30, 2019.

Filipino community and media groups interested in gaining access to the conduct and counting of overseas votes are invited to seek accreditation with the Philippine Embassy by emailing This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Registration for overseas voting ended in September 2018 with over 1.8 million approved voters, over 345,000 of which are from the North and Latin American regions.

The 2019 election, happening mid-way through President Duterte’s term of office, is considered an important referendum on his current administration.

Information on candidates maybe found here: http://www.comelec.gov.ph/?r=2019NLE/ListsOfCandidates


There are 62 candidates for Senator. Some of the better known candidates are:

  1. Aguilar, Freddie
  2. Alunan, Raffy
  3. Angara, Edgardo (Sonny)
  4. Aquino, Benigno (Bam)
  5. Binay, Nancy
  6. Cayetano, Pia
  7. Dela rosa, Ronald (Bato)
  8. Diokno, Jose Manuel (Chel)
  9. Ejercito, Estrada (JV)
  10. Enrile, Juan Ponce
  11. Estrada, Jinggoy
  12. Lapid, Manuel (Lito)
  13. Marcos, Imee
  14. Osmeña, Sergio (Serge)
  15. Pimentel, Aquilino Martin (Koko)
  16. Poe,Grace
  17. Revilla, Ramon Jr (Bong)
  18. Roxas, Manuel (Mar)
  19. Tolentino, Francis
  20. Villar, Cynthia

Canadian Filipino Net is an independent, non-profit digital magazine produced by volunteer writers, editors, and webmasters. Your donation will go a long way so we can continuously publish stories about Canadian Filipinos. Click on a donate button and proceed either through PayPal, Debit, or Credit Card.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.